Illumined's Guide to Inquiry

Illumined’s Guide to Inquiry

I have been doing inquiry for a couple of years now, learning a lot from different sources but most importantly going through the work myself and seeing the results of doing this work. It can be a tool of great transformation of oneself and external reality. Here I will share some of the most important ideas and principles I have found to be beneficial throughout my journey.

Principle 1 - Life is meaningless

In the sense that it has no inherent meaning. As bleak as this may sound to some, it can equally be quite empowering. Events like blank canvases, await the strokes of our interpretations. It is our definitions and beliefs that wield the paintbrush, coloring and shaping our perception of the vast infinite potential around us. (To give an example, let’s say a person is standing on the edge of a tall cliff. A person expressing the belief that it’s incredibly dangerous and they could die may have a fear response compared to a person who holds the perspective of awe towards the majesty of nature. Same event or circumstance, different definitions resulting in a totally different experience)

aesthetic-fog

Principle 2 - Motivation Mechanism

You will always immediately move in the direction of what you define or perceive to be more pleasurable. You will always move away from what you perceive to be more painful. You are always motivated by the same mechanism to do what it is you do. The key is what you define and believe & perceive to be pleasure and pain. When you attach certain kinds of beliefs to your motivational mechanism then you are automatically/immediately propelled in the direction of reinforcing that belief.