How to be less afraid of debt?

Okay, here’s the deal: as a single person with no dependents, I’m about $1800 in credit card debt, and I do have the money in my account to pay it off in full right now, but then my savings would be gone, so that’s not an option (my only other bills are for health insurance and paying for groceries). I am working, but it’s not many hours per week (I’m a full time student), and payday is at the end of the month. My credit score is very good, I’m still way below my credit limit, and interest really isn’t bad at all, so it would probably be smartest to just steadily pay it off over the next few months. However, the problems with that are twofold:

-I’m massively anxious over being in debt, as in, I’m losing sleep over it. It’s really the principle of owing anybody anything that I hate. Also, I think I read Madame Bovary too young, in which the title character ends up buried under a mountain of debt and dies a hideous suicide by arsenic.

-I want to go on a study abroad trip about six months from now: my scholarship should take care of most of it but it’s still taking on more debt.

I guess, short of using fields to summon the money I need (I have Capital Governance, Kubera’s Blessing and Lucky Horseshoe), I need to be less afraid of debt. Any advice?

(Also - I own a few domains I’m trying to sell, and trying to get something started on Fiverr with selling voiceovers. We’ll see.)

3 Likes

please take this into consideration, that what is more harmful is your feeling of stress and anxiety than the actual debt.

even if you’re not working as many hours, you still have money coming in. what is the interest rate of your debt?

are you able to allocate 10-20% of what you’re making towards paying down the amount of $1800?

7 Likes

I know that, but I don’t know what to do about it. Feelings aren’t easy to control.